Uncategorized

Good Enough for Me

Read Huxley’s Brave New World a while back. I am trying to wade thru that list as has been suggested by some friends. One of the enduring images in my head is the helicopter flying over chimneys of the crematoriums. It being pushed higher by the heat from smoke pouring into the night sky.

It has been said that our legacy is our children. And I have done pretty good for a person some consider of no moral fibre.

The oldest has his Masters in Electrical Engineering
The middle guy works in Construction
And the youngest will Graduate With Honours in Mathematics next year.

A person going by the online name of Francis Marion in a response to my post titled Going to Valhalla said the following

……………………………………………………………………………………..

Been thinking lately that life is a short story of sorts. We live in fear to often of “losing what we have” if we dare to change the plot. But given its brevity what do we truly have? I am beginning to think longer term than simply myself and from time to time conclude that it may be time to change my story.

I think of my Roman & Celtic roots more these days and wonder what my ancestors would have done in my place? I know the answer. It is unsettling. But then I am not permanent. Our deeds, on the other hand, tend to echo.

…………………………………………………………………….

Those words have resonated with me. I keep thinking I haven’t made a difference but I am always surprised when I have. I should be writing a book myself but can’t seem to find the words. A pivotal event in History of Nova Scotia and I am not a part of it. Well at least not officially. But it doesn’t matter. My sons see me now as someone who tried to do right thing. They respect me and that my friends is all that counts. Whether it is formally written of has in some ways become less important. I will, even if I decide to not write it down, be heard or at the very least echo.

That will be good enough for me.

AS-THEY-FLEW-OVER-THE-CREMATORIUM-THE-PLANE-SHOT-UPWARDS-ON-THE-COLUMN-OF-HOT-AIR-1-X1239.jpg

Leave a Reply

